It’s an interesting thought to think that I now allow myself to dress in my own way (not that it is trendy or cool or looks good or is in fact Indi!) but the fact that I will see something that I like and want to wear it. It wasn’t till I actually started studying here at QCA that I realised I was my own person and that I loved to make things in any kind of medium so why was I holding back on my own personal medium, my wardrobe? I’m not saying that I do not conform to certain trends or influences because I do and I am always looking for inspiration on blogs and magazines hoping that something will jump out at me and say “hey Maddy, you should try this look out” but the reality is that is a very rare occurrence and most of the time an unrealistic one at that, because either I cant afford such a look or I don’t feel comfortable in it mainly because of modern day trends that only suit a certain body type circulating the very air we breathe.

street-styleCrazy-Fashion-Week-Street-Style-Fall-2014 

 I think that the notion of street style is an evolution that is still only quite a new concept and a great one at that. It allows people like me to experiment and draw inspiration (like an artist would with his work) from all kinds creative interventions, but I also think that there is a fine line between actual ordinary people on the streets dressed in also sorts of attires, in contrast to famous personalities being photographed outside a fashion show in designer cloths and being labeled as Street style. Dick Hebdige says “style as a form of aesthetic group membership in mass society – a way of standing out of the crowd while identifying with a group through consumption practices including dressing, music, literature, film and daily habits” (Hebdige,Subculture,1979).

old kids rad old ladies

This is where the so-called Trickle down and Trickle up theory comes into play. The “trickle down” theory identified by Georg Simmel in 1904, relies on hierarchical class systems where certain looks and tastes are dictated by higher class society such as the run ways and movie starts on the red carpet which becomes adopted by the lower class.  This is done in order to move up the social ladder ‘trickling down’ and intern being rejected by the upper class, due to the democratic nature of the mass market and production industry . On the other hand we have the “Trickle up” theory (Berry, 2014) identified by Howard Brumer in 1969 (the height of the earth loving hippy movement) has designers taking inspiration from the streets of lower income groups and subcultures like the Punks and Biker gangs. Using theses subculture groups and their identities such as the trademark leather jacket. This tough and masculine item of clothing once only worn by a certain group was soon to be seen ‘trickling’ up  on the social ladder with the likes of  actor Marland Brando and designers such as Oscar de la Renta and Jason Wu, also taking inspiration and transporting luxury takes on the biker jacket.

http-::www.rottentomatoes.com:quiz:youre-so-punk-rock:oscar-de-la-renta-moto-jacket-with-leather-sleeves 

It’s about personality and personal need when it comes to fashion, whether that means dressing to fit in or dressing to stand out, street style and fashion in general (in my opinion) is a universal catwalk! Upper class or lower class we all mesh in some way or another.

 

References 

Berry, J 2014, 2432QCA Contemporary fashion, Week 5 Lecture: 2432QCA Contemporary Fashion Street Style& Subcultures, Learning@Griffith web site: https://bblearn.griffith.edu.au/bbcswebdav/pid-1010412-dt-content-rid-2625166_1/courses/2432QCA_3145_SB/Course%20Content/Week%205%20Street%20Style%20%26%20Subcultures/fashion%205%20street%20style%20lecture.pdf

 

Welters, Linda & Lillethun, Abby 2007. The fashion reader. New York: Berg. Ch. 45. Polhemus, Ted. Trickle down, bubble up, pp.327-331

 

Stephens, R 2008, 50 ways to take your blog to the next level, weblog, 14 September, viewed 29 September 2008, <http://www.chrisbrogan.com/50-ways-to-take-your-blog-to-the-next-level/&gt;.

 

Kats, E 2012, Torn Apart, weblog, 16 April, viewed 9 September 2014, <http://whoareweintheend.blogspot.com.au/2012/04/torn-apart.html&gt;

 

How to wear a crop top,image, viewed 7 September 2014, http://www.pinterest.com/madelynchung/how-to-wear-crop-tops/

Wikipedia 2013 “Leather Jacket”, viewed 7 September 2014, http://www.tedpolhemus.com/main_concept6%20467.html

